#TheFoodStruggleIsReal and Living In My Kitchen

Hello friends,

I know it has been a long time since I have blogged. Honestly it is because I have had nothing of not to share. there have been some ok recipes and some good, and some craptastic adventures.

The craptastic

:20160623_010546

My latest attempt to modify a Pinterest meal “Chicken in a Creamy Sun-dried Tomato and Parmesan sauce”

So the flavor was not that bad, but my substitutes and additions did it no favors. I cooked it in a pot, should have been sauteed in a pan, this was the first of many mistakes. I substituted heavy cream with Greek yogurt, this may not have been a bad idea if the water had not collected on the bottom, from mistake number one. I added artichoke hearts and did not drain enough, no, no no, do not make this mistake. I added mushrooms, yes more, much more liquid as they cooked down and due to the pot, not the pan, the liquid, just stayed.  I added cherry tomatoes. The cheese also did not get all melty, just clumpy.

I did do some things right, I soaked the sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil with most of the herbs and spices. I used tofu instead of chicken, it took on the flavor well. and the overall taste was great.

“Bone Broth and Mixed Vegetable Soup”20160522_223606

Ok so not exactly craptastic, but nothing I would write home about. I love soup and since lowering my salt intake, it just is difficult to find my soup groove again. It was food, it was full of nutrition, and it lasted several meals, that is about all I can say about it.

The only good thing was that it was easy to make, can we have an amen to organic frozen vegetables!!

 

The Mediocre:

I made several dishes this week that again, while serviceable, was nothing to brag about. As you have probably noticed, I like mixing up lots of vegetables. I use what looks good or what is available, so often times my food ends up being pretty similar.

 

“Random Chicken and Vegetable Melange”

20160608_235633 (1)

This was actually pretty tasty, but nothing revolutionary or whoa, I must share this. I took some frozen broccoli, sweet peppers, mushrooms, diced tomatoes, and cooked them. Ta-da- meet a mediocre meal at its finest. It was decent, I moved on.

 

The Highlights

“Home made Popsicles”

20160525_222038 (1)

Take one blender

Add fruit of choice

Add a little water

Add some coconut water.

Now blend

Add to containers

Freeze

Eat

Repeat

 

“Roasted Veggies”20160613_151254

I cut up potatoes, carrots, onion, and celery

Sprayed them with olive oil

Sprinkled salt and herbs on them and roasted at 385 degrees for about 50 minutes.

I served this with Baked Ranch Chicken. I enjoyed it. My friend did too, except for the cooked celery. I enjoyed the celery that way, she did not. You could easily omit it.

 

So there you have it friends, the successes and the ahem other adventures of the past few weeks.  I am throwing a little get together for the first time in about 6 years. I usually go to my friends’ places, but it is my turn to take over. I am doing the zucchini Pizza casserole as well as a variety of picky foods. I will post pictures for all of you!

I wish you a healthy and abundant table!

 

 

Leave a Reply

