Chicken Tikka Masala with Jasmine Rice

Hello Friends,

I ventured out of my cooking box and made an Indian dish. Of course with plenty of modifications and a little help from a jar. I am not above convenience foods when it means that I can see the ingredients and calorie content. I was inspired at the grocery store when I came upon this jar:

http://www.mayakaimal.com 

I am hooked. 100 calories, 8 grams of fat and 6 carbs per serving and 4 servings in a jar.  The sodium was a little high at almost 500 mg per serving, but can I say worth it. I have eaten my fair share of Indian food, living out here in NJ and I loved this. It made it easy for me to do it myself. Maybe someday I will learn the actual recipe and make it from scratch, but for now this is a great help. I can’t wait to use it again! (I am not being sponsored) It is not low fat but it has lots of flavor, protein, and you can replace the rice with a side vegetable for a low carb option.

Main Dish

  • 1 – 1.5 lb of skinless chicken breast cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1 lb of mixed frozen veggies ( I used corn, peas, and green beans. I know this is not authentic, but it was a great way to add vegetables. You could also use cauliflower instead)
  • Halved cherry tomatoes (again not authentic, but I needed to use them up and they worked well!)
  • Tikka Masala Spice from the Savory Spice Shop – to taste
  • 1 tsp. Avacado oil
  • 1.tsp Olive oil

Lightly brown chicken in a pan with the oil and spice and add frozen veggies. Saute until all is warm. Add sauce and cherry tomatoes. Stir occasionally and keep on medium heat.

Rice side (This is all estimated)

  • 1.5 cups of water
  • 1. cup of Jasmine rice
  • 1/4 cup of mixed wild rice and ancient grains
  • 1 tsp of coconut oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Boil the water, add the rices. Bring back to a boil and then on low to simmer for 15 minutes. Stir occasionally and fluff with a fork when it is done. Add the coconut oil instead of butter for a nice flavor and healthier fat.

Eat!

Leave a Reply

