Day 6 cleanse-Chicken and Veggie soup (With vegetarian options)

So I  am eating out and except for the bacon and cheese it is not too bad. I am 12.2 pounds down since Monday. Feeling pretty good and excited to see what the coming weeks will bring.

So a nice little side effect of this detox is my blood pressure going up at night.  I realized with all the loss of water that I needed more potassium, calcium, and magnesium. I had been using magnesium oil and still am, but have added supplements. I definitely felt better today after taking the potassium.

I have found that I have to cram food in at the end of the day to eat a decent number of calories, not a problem I every thought I would have. I need to eat more throughout the day.

Breakfast: I ate out and splurged a little. Rojo egg bowl. Scrambled eggs, cheddar cheese, bacon and home fried potatoes on the bottom. This was topped with ranchero sauce (I did not like that so I combined some Tabasco and ketchup instead.) I topped this off with a bottle of water.

Lunch was the leftover Turkey Faux Pizza

Snacks:

  • Pear
  • Larabar- Seed and nut bar. I was very happy with this, fairly low carb with 13 carbs and 4 g of fiber!
  •  Greek yogurt, honey and nuts.

Dinner

Chicken and Veggie Soup

  • .75 lb of chicken breast (skip for a vegetarian take and use mushrooms instead or beans)
  • About 3 cups of Mire Poix
  • 1 pound of frozen veggies (carrots, green beans, peas, and corn)
  • .25 lb of frozen broccoli
  • **Optonal*1/2 cup of homemade turkey broth with the fat (you can skip this step I had it from yesterday) I save my meat drippings for what I like to call flavor bombs. I freeze them if I do not use it right away. It will add a nice depth to your soups. For you vegetarians do this with the juices from roasted or baked veggies, all of the oils, herbs and juices will make a great addition to your base.
  • 1/2 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cup of red and french lentils
  • whole head of garlic finely chopped (yes a whole head… put as much as you like in!)
  • 4 cups of chicken broth (or vegetable broth)
  • 4.5 cups of water
  • 3 tsp of lemon juice
  • 2 tbs of olive oil
  • Herbs and Spices to taste (ground ginger, paprika, pepper, sea salt, 21 seasoning salute, everyday seasoning, parsley, and rosemary)
  1. In a big soup pot heat up the olive oil, when it is hot, throw in the Mire poix and finely chopped garlic. I put a lot in because I am feeling sick, you can put in as many as you like. When it has cooked down and  put in the chicken. Cut it up before hand or the lazy way (with the spatula while it is cooking.
  2. Now add in the lemon juice and herb/spice mix
  3. Add in all of the other ingredients and bring to a boil. Bring back down to a low heat and let simmer until the lentils are soft.

I admit, I use a lot of prepackaged food, I am short on time and frankly frozen veggies come in organic now and they are fresher than buying anything imported. Also I hate meat with bones and fat on it. the tenders are slightly more expensive, but save on time and gross factor. The mire poix I learned early on that if I buy everything separately I will throw a lot of it out, it is worth the extra few bucks to me to have both veggies and time saved. If you are like me and work a lot, there are conveniences and short cuts to take. Remember though, if you are on a tight budget then save the money and invest in tools that will do the chopping for you.  You have to ask yourself, how much is my time worth?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The numbers:

  • Steps 4152
  • 2980 calories burned 190 were active calories
  • 1799 calories consumed
  • 30% carbs 137g (Lowest yet!!!!)
  • 44% fat 88g (way under 100!)
  • 26% protein 119g

Thank you for all of the likes, and shout out to the new followers! Low sodium day as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

